Skip to main content

Is Final Fantasy Resonance Worth It? Critics vs Players

Critics average 85 on OpenCritic and 97% of Steam reviews are positive. Our evidence-based verdict on Final Fantasy Resonance: 8.9, great combat and a divisive story.

Pixel-art party walking across a stone bridge towards a floating palace in HD-2D style
Final Fantasy Resonance launched on 22 October 2026 on Switch 2, Switch, PS5, Xbox Series X|S and PC. Image: Square Enix via Steam

Verdict

For fans of SNES-era Final Fantasy, an HD-2D RPG with turn-based combat that critics rate highly and no gacha. Try the free demo first if you need a strong story: the writing is where reviews split.

What works

  • Turn-based combat built on weaknesses, stagger and turn order (IGN, Nintendo Life, TheSixthAxis)
  • HD-2D visuals and cinematic camera work (IGN, Game Informer, Nintendo Life)
  • Visions job system drawn from past Final Fantasy heroes (IGN, Game Informer)
  • No gacha or microtransactions, unlike Brave Exvius (IGN)
  • Very strong player reception: 97.3% positive on Steam

What doesn't

  • Story and cast feel shallow and trope-heavy to several critics (Eurogamer, IGN, Nintendo Life)
  • Single-element builds can make the first half too easy (IGN)
  • Character building can mean grinding levels (TheSixthAxis, r/FinalFantasyResonance)

Platforms covered Switch 2, PS5 and PC (platforms covered by cited reviews)

How we score

Evidence-based review · scores read on 25 October 2026. AFK Journal has not played Final Fantasy Resonance: this verdict combines published critic reviews and Steam player data through a public formula, shown in full below.

Final Fantasy Resonance is worth it for anyone who wants a classic turn-based Final Fantasy: critics average 85 on OpenCritic and 97% of Steam reviews are positive, which gives it 8.9 (Great) on our formula. The catch is the story, which several major outlets call the weakest part of a game rebuilt from the shuttered mobile title Final Fantasy Brave Exvius.

This review is built on the OpenCritic and Metacritic pages, Steam's review and player data, Square Enix's launch details and ten published reviews, including IGN, Eurogamer, GameSpot, Nintendo Life and Game Informer. The game launched on 22 October 2026 on Switch 2, Switch, PS5, Xbox Series X|S and PC (Steam and the Microsoft Store) at a suggested price of £49.99, according to Square Enix; Steam lists it at $49.99 in the US.

Final Fantasy Resonance: critics and players (OpenCritic, Metacritic, Steam; checked 25 October 2026; per-platform Metascores as listed on Wikipedia on 22 October)
MeasureValueSource
Top Critic Average84.88 (52 top critics)OpenCritic
Critics who recommend it88% of 86 reviewsOpenCritic
Metascore86 (51 reviews)Metacritic
Metascore by platformPS5 86, Xbox 86, PC 83, Switch 2 82Metacritic via Wikipedia
Steam user reviews97.3% positive (1,947 of 2,001)Steam review histogram
Steam players online32,909 (25 October, 10:12 UTC)Steam Web API

What is Final Fantasy Resonance?

Square Enix calls it the first Final Fantasy in the HD-2D style, the mix of pixel-art sprites and 3D scenery it uses for Octopath Traveler. It is developed with Lancarse and adapts the first story arc of Brave Exvius, a mobile game that ran from 2016 to 2025, into a full console RPG. Square Enix stresses that it has been rebuilt rather than ported.

The plot follows Rain and Lasswell, two knights of Grandshelt, and Fina, a girl with no memory who emerges from a shattered crystal, as they try to stop the Sworn Six from destroying the world's elemental crystals. Chocobos, espers and airships return, and so do familiar faces such as Cloud and Tidus in the form of Visions.

What do critics agree on?

The HD-2D presentation is the most consistent compliment. IGN says Resonance sets a new benchmark for the style, Game Informer says it wears the look confidently, and Nintendo Life points to more dynamic camera work in story scenes than earlier HD-2D games, which mostly kept a static camera.

Combat is the second point of agreement. Battles run on a visible turn order rather than an Active Time Battle gauge. Hitting an enemy's elemental weakness drains a stagger bar, and staggering a foe costs it a turn and gives the attacker a bonus action, as both Nintendo Life and IGN describe. Nintendo Life calls the system simple but rewarding to plan around, especially in boss fights.

Visions are the third. Each party member equips a projection of a past Final Fantasy hero, among them Cloud, Tidus, Lightning and Noctis, to gain active skills and passive bonuses; mastery grows the longer a Vision stays equipped. IGN and Game Informer both compare the result to the job system of Final Fantasy V. IGN adds a spoiler warning of its own: the shrines that unlock Visions recap the stories of older Final Fantasy games.

An airship flying over a green island and the sea on the HD-2D world map
The overworld and airships are part of the classic structure most reviews praise. Image: Square Enix via Steam

Critics also agree on what was left out. Resonance turns the first season of Brave Exvius into a traditional RPG with an overworld, towns and dungeons, and IGN stresses that it has no gacha mechanics or microtransactions. TheSixthAxis lists the classic furniture that came with it: random encounters, Limit Bursts, Phoenix Downs and the familiar level-up jingle. IGN's verdict also credits the music, and Nintendo Life singles out expressive voice acting that lifts the cutscenes.

Where do critics split?

Mostly on the story. Eurogamer gave it 3 out of 5 and calls the writing by far the weakest facet, with a cast it says has no chemistry and plot events that leave the world unchanged. IGN (8/10) calls the story underwhelming, and Nintendo Life (8/10) says this is where the mobile roots are felt most. At the other end, Game Informer (9/10) argues the cast is the game's real strength, and Shacknews (8/10) credits Rain, Lasswell and Fina's character work for lifting the plot.

Selected critic scores and their main point (scores as listed on OpenCritic, read 25 October 2026)
OutletScorePlatformMain point
DualShockers10/10PS5Highest score in our sample
Game Informer9/10Not statedCharacters are its greatest strength
PCGamesN9/10PCAn HD-2D "comfort blanket"
Hobby Consolas88/100Switch 2One of the series' best in years
IGN8/10Switch 2Benchmark visuals, underwhelming story
Nintendo Life8/10Switch 2Classic structure; story shows mobile roots
Shacknews8/10PS5Character work lifts the plot
TheSixthAxis8/10Switch 2Old-school combat; some frame drops
GameSpot7/10Not statedRescues Brave Exvius's story for a wider audience
Eurogamer3/5Switch 2Strong battles, weak writing

Difficulty is the other disagreement. IGN found most enemies and bosses pushovers in the first half, because stacking one element against a known weakness could trivialise fights, before the late game got tougher. Nintendo Life, by contrast, describes the bigger boss fights as a careful process of planning around each character's kit. OpenCritic's median score is 90; in our sample, Eurogamer (3/5) and GameSpot (7/10) sit lowest.

What do Steam players say?

Players like it even more than critics do. On 25 October the Steam store page rated it Overwhelmingly Positive, with 97% of 1,994 reviews positive. Steam's daily review histogram counts 1,947 positive and 54 negative reviews since launch, and no day so far has dropped below 95%. That is a small sample three days in, but it is a consistent one.

Final Fantasy Resonance Steam reviews by day (Steam review histogram, all languages, read 25 October 2026 at about 10:20 UTC; 25 October is a partial day)
DayPositiveNegative% positive
22 October (launch)2541295.5%
23 October8421798.0%
24 October6221797.3%
25 October (partial)229896.6%
Total1,9475497.3%

Steam stopped serving review text through its public endpoint on 22 October, so we could not sample written Steam reviews as in earlier roundups; Steam also excludes off-topic review bombs from its scores. For recurring themes we read the r/Games review thread (606 upvotes, 406 comments on 25 October) and the game's own subreddit.

Two themes stand out. Before launch, a recurring doubt in the r/Games thread was paying full price for an adapted mobile game, and commenters split over the story much as critics did. Since launch, the most upvoted grinding posts on r/FinalFantasyResonance are tips for farming experience, such as a Chapter 2 XP spot with 247 upvotes. TheSixthAxis makes the same point from the critic side: building the perfect character can become a time sink of maths and level grinding.

How does it run on Switch 2, PS5, Xbox and PC?

Reviews disagree on Switch 2. Nintendo Life reports a smooth 60fps; TheSixthAxis saw the frame rate drop in busier areas and on the overworld, though it says this causes no real problems in a turn-based game. Most reviews in our sample were played on Switch 2 or PS5, and as of 25 October we found no detailed technical analysis of the PC, Xbox or original Switch versions.

Steam's minimum PC specification asks for a GTX 1650, RX 6400 or Arc A580, 8 GB of RAM and 15 GB of storage, and targets 1080p at 30fps on the Low preset. A free demo covering the opening chapter, about 3 to 5 hours according to Insider Gaming, is available on every platform, and its save carries over to the full game.

Turn-based battle screen with the turn order along the top and a four-character party facing purple monsters by a lake
The turn order runs along the top of the screen; staggering enemies earns bonus actions. Image: Square Enix via Steam

How we got to 8.9

Our formula weights critics at 70% and players at 30%. The critic input is OpenCritic's Top Critic Average divided by 10; the player input is Steam's share of positive reviews divided by 10, which we only use once a game passes 500 Steam reviews. Resonance clears both thresholds comfortably.

Final Fantasy Resonance score calculation (OpenCritic and Steam data checked 25 October 2026)
InputValueWeightContribution
Critics (OpenCritic Top Critic Average)84.88 → 8.4970%5.94
Players (Steam % positive)97.3% → 9.7330%2.92
CorrectionNone—0.00
Total8.86—8.9 (Great)

We applied no correction. The Switch 2 frame drops are reported by one review and contradicted by another, and we found no documented monetisation or launch problems. The result sits at the top of our Great band (8.0 to 8.9), a tenth below Essential: the players' enthusiasm pulls it up, the story debate keeps the critic side at 85.

Should you buy Final Fantasy Resonance?

  • Buy it if you miss SNES-era Final Fantasy: turn-based battles, an overworld, airships and a job-style system, with no gacha.
  • Buy it if you liked the HD-2D look of Octopath Traveler: IGN calls this a new benchmark for the style.
  • Play the free demo first if story is what you want from an RPG: the writing is the main split between reviews.
  • Think twice if you played Brave Exvius for its story: Resonance retells the first season rather than continuing it.

For more Square Enix RPGs on current consoles, see our Kingdom Hearts Collection review; if swapping Visions appeals, the class system in our Dragon's Dogma 2 vocations guide works on a similar idea. Everything else that launched this month is in Upcoming Games in October 2026, and future coverage will collect on the Final Fantasy Resonance hub.

FAQ

What score did Final Fantasy Resonance get?

On 25 October 2026 it had an OpenCritic Top Critic Average of 84.88 from 52 top critics, with 88% of 86 critics recommending it, and a Metascore of 86 from 51 reviews. AFK Journal's evidence-based score is 8.9 (Great).

Is Final Fantasy Resonance worth it?

For fans of classic turn-based Final Fantasy, yes: critics praise its combat and HD-2D visuals, and 97% of Steam reviews are positive. If story is what you play RPGs for, try the free demo first, because several major reviews call the writing the weakest part.

Do Steam players like Final Fantasy Resonance?

Yes. Steam rated it Overwhelmingly Positive on 25 October 2026, with 1,947 positive and 54 negative reviews since launch (97.3%). No single day since 22 October has fallen below 95% positive.

How long is Final Fantasy Resonance?

Square Enix has not published an official completion time. The free demo covers the opening chapter, which Insider Gaming puts at about 3 to 5 hours, and the full game adapts the whole first season of Brave Exvius.

Sources

  1. Final Fantasy Resonance reviews and score — OpenCritic
  2. Final Fantasy Resonance Metascore — Metacritic
  3. Final Fantasy Resonance on Steam — Steam
  4. Final Fantasy Resonance announcement: platforms and price — Square Enix
  5. Final Fantasy Resonance review — IGN
  6. Final Fantasy Resonance review — Eurogamer
  7. Final Fantasy Resonance Saves A Great Story From Live-Service Oblivion — GameSpot
  8. Final Fantasy Resonance review (Switch 2) — Nintendo Life
  9. Final Fantasy Resonance review: On Its Own Wavelength — Game Informer
  10. Final Fantasy Resonance review — TheSixthAxis
  11. Final Fantasy Resonance review thread — Reddit (r/Games)

Update log

  1. First published. Scores read on 25 October 2026: OpenCritic 84.88 (52 top critics, 88% of 86 recommend), Metacritic 86 (51 reviews), Steam 97.3% positive of 2,001.

How this was made

This review was written and published by AFK Journal Staff, with AI-assisted research and drafting. It is an evidence-based verdict rather than a hands-on review: published criticism from named outlets and the visible player sentiment, quoted and linked, with the score derived from a stated scale rather than a feeling. The sources it was built from are listed above, in full, and linked.